- About Page

The City of Powder Springs promotes this involvement through numerous boards, commissions, and special projects/programs. The following is a listing of the various advisory boards and commissions that serve to support the Mayor, City Council and staff in carrying out the many programs and services offered by the city. If you are interested in serving on one of the many boards and commissions, contact the City Clerk for an application or to be placed on the waiting list.

Powder Springs operates under a Mayor-City Council-Manager form of government. The mayor is elected at large for a four-year term. Three city council members are elected to four-year terms from each of the City’s three wards and two are elected at large. The mayor and city council provide leadership in setting and achieving policy and community goals; determine the tax rate; establish the budget and hire the city manager and city clerk. The mayor and council are committed to the provision of efficient and equitable services essential to the quality of life in Powder Springs. They welcome your views on matters of City policy and other issues of concern to you and your neighborhood. The day-to-day operations of city government are handled by a professional staff headed by the City Manager.